已出版

2015-04-28

评价该信息


2011 年,ECHOcommunity 成员 Kusnadi 夫妇二人在他们的家乡印度尼西亚棉兰参与了当地一项生物沙滤水项目。该项目由加拿大 Samaritan’s Purse 与一家叫做 Yayasan Abdi Satya (YAS) 的当地组织提供支持与帮助。那时,YAS 还参与了灾难应对与儿童发展项目,其有兴趣提高自身在社区发展项目方面的能力,以便在农业领域支持当地乡村社区。

YAS 项目经理 Hermansyah 与 Anthony 和 Kusnadi 夫妇一同参加了在泰国召开的 2011 年 ECHO 亚洲农业与社区发展会议。他们的目的是与像他们那样的其他个人与组织建立联系,并了解可以在其领域实施的技术。在会议期间,到梅州大学蠕虫堆肥设施的考察对他们影响极大,该蠕虫堆肥设施专注于使用蠕虫分解有机废物,以便生成高质量的堆肥与蠕虫液肥。受到实地考察所见的启发,团队返回棉兰,开始进行各种蠕虫堆肥系统的实验。

Mr Kusnadi Demonstrates Vermicomposting如今,YAS 的工作已拓展并发展为一个“小农场资源中心 (SFRC) ”,该中心展示了诸如基于垂直园艺单元的城市农业、养耕共生、自由放养鸡等技术。YAS 农场教授少害/无害化学肥料和农药的农业实践,展示管理水资源的有效方法,并推广有营养的蔬菜,如驱虫苋辣木。他们也开始通过教授农业与畜牧业课程为一所当地的圣经学校提供支持。在过去四年里,YAS 员工从会议参与者转变为会议主办者。在三月份,YAS 员工与 ECHO 合作主办了首次 ECHO 印度尼西亚可持续发展农业研讨会。

 

2015 年 ECHO 亚洲会议


ECHO 亚洲正在主办今年的亚洲农业与社区发展会议。

了解更多


地区

Asia

Published

2015-04-28

In 2011, ECHOcommunity members Mr. and Mrs. Kusnadi were involved with a local household biosand filter water project in their hometown of Medan Indonesia. This project was supported by Samaritan’s Purse Canada and facilitated by a local organization called Yayasan Abdi Satya (YAS). At that time, YAS was also involved with disaster response and child development, and was interested in growing its capacity for community development programs to support local rural communities in the area of agriculture.

YAS Project managers Hermansyah and Anthony, along with Mr. and Mrs. Kusnadi, attended the 2011 ECHO Asia Agriculture and Community Development Conference in Thailand. Their purpose was to network with other individuals and organizations like theirs, and to learn about techniques that could be implemented in their area. During the conference they were particularly impacted by a trip to Maejo University vermicomposting facility, which focuses on using worms to break down organic food waste in order to produce high-quality compost and worm juice. Inspired by what they saw during the field trip, the team went back to Medan and began experimenting with various vermicomposting systems.

Mr Kusnadi Demonstrates VermicompostingToday, YAS work has expanded and developed into a Small Farm Resource Center (SFRC) that demonstrates techniques such as urban farming through vertical gardening units, aquaponics, and free-range chicken production. The YAS farm teaches agriculture practices that focus on less/zero harmful chemical fertilizers and pesticides, demonstrates effective ways of managing water resources, and promotes nutritious underutilized vegetables such as Chaya and Moringa. They have also begun supporting a local Bible School by teaching seminarians agriculture and livestock subjects. In the past four years the staff of YAS have transitioned from conference attendees to hosts. In March, YAS staff and ECHO worked in partnership to host the first ECHO Indonesia Sustainable Agriculture Workshop.

 

Upcoming Event: 2015 ECHO Asia Conference


ECHO Asia is hosting another Agriculture and Community Development Conference this year!

Learn More


Regions

Asia