Culture du Carbone : Pour le Renforcement des Sols et la Stabilisation du Climat

L’Engagement des Agriculteurs dans la Vulgarisation Agricole

Les Échos de Notre Réseau : Savoir négocier entre deux compréhensions apparemment contradictoires des coopératives

Banque de Semences d’ECHO : Naranjilla


Lire en ligne


Culture du Carbone* : Pour le Renforcement des Sols et la Stabilisation du Climat

Eric Toensmeier

Le changement climatique aura un énorme impact sur les populations les plus pauvres du monde. Les rendements des cultures ont déjà baissé dans les tropiques et devraient encore baisser de 15 à 30 % en 2080 en Afrique, en Asie du Sud et Amérique Centrale (Hoffman 2013). Certains pays pourraient atteindre une perte de 50 % de la productivité agricole. En réalité, dans certaines régions, l’agriculture deviendra probablement impossible (Hoffman 2013). Les pays les plus pauvres et la plupart des pays à haut niveau d’insécurité alimentaire affrontent les pires impacts du changement climatique au niveau de leurs systèmes de production (Oxfam 2009). « Suffering the Science » d’Oxfam International rapporte que 26 millions de personnes sont déjà déplacées de leurs foyers en raison des changements climatiques, et l’Organisation mondiale de la santé estime que 150 000 vies sont perdues chaque année en raison du changement climatique  (Oxfam 2009).

Le changement climatique se produit parce que trop de dioxyde de carbone est rejeté dans l’atmosphère, et cela est dû à l’incendie de combustibles fossiles, le déboisement et la dégradation des terres agricoles. Pour rendre notre climat stable à nouveau, nous devons réduire drastiquement les émissions de dioxyde de carbone et autres gaz à effet de serre, tout en réduisant également l’excès de carbone dans l’atmosphère et le stocker en toute sécurité. Beaucoup de pratiques agricoles peuvent faire cela. En effet, si ces techniques étaient largement utilisés, elles pourraient débarrasser et stocker suffisamment de carbone pour ramener le taux de carbone atmosphérique à 350 parties par million (ppm) de dioxyde de carbone, considéré par les scientifiques comme une quantité de carbone sans danger (Lal 2014). Toutefois, ces techniques ne seront réussies que si les émissions sont considérablement réduites.

L’Engagement des Agriculteurs dans la Vulgarisation Agricole

Brian Flanagan, fiches résumant de MEAS

Good intentions and viable solutions will have little impact unless we engage with farmers in ways that are meaningful to them.  Farmers put a great deal of confidence in what they learn from fellow farmers’ experiences, and they are more likely to trust what they see over what they hear.  Interacting with peers also helps farmers to learn from and share with each other.

This document, drawn from three MEAS Tips and Facts Sheets (Farmer Meetings, Test Strips for On-Farm Demonstrations, and The Farm Walk Farm-Led Demonstrations), discusses practical  agriculture extension methods that development workers can use to more effectively engage with farmers and foster the kind of farmer-to-farmer interaction that leads to positive change.

Naranjilla (Solanum quitoense)

Naranjilla  (prononcé na-ran-hii-ya) signifie « petite orange » en espagnol, mais il n’est pas un agrume. C’est en fait un parent de la tomate, de l’aubergine et du poivron, étant membre de la famille des solanacées (également connu sous le nom « morelle »). Cultivé pour son fruit jaune à orange, il a été décrit comme « le fruit d’or des Andes ». Naranjilla est riche en vitamine C (31-84 mg d’acide ascorbique/100 g de fruits frais) et produit un jus excellent de saveur tropicale unique et délicieuse qui a le gout d’un mélange d’ananas et de citron. Il est également utilisé dans les crèmes glacées, sorbets, gelées et confitures.

Savoir négocier entre deux compréhensions apparemment contradictoires des coopératives

Joel Matthews

Dans EDN 127, Dick Tinsley et David Headley  semblent avoir des visions quelque peu contradictoires au sujet de la valeur des coopératives paysannes. Lorsque de tels avis contradictoires apparaissent, ils indiquent souvent une zone de complexité sous-estimée. Ainsi, plutôt que de lever nos mains en signe de frustration, nous devrions prendre le temps de comprendre. En fait, c’est le bon moment pour reconnaître qu’intervenir dans une communauté est complexe et potentiellement risqué (pour les utilisateurs finaux). Nous devons marcher prudemment lorsque nous nous proposons de changer la vie des autres.

Carbon Farming: Building Soils and Stabilizing the Climate

Farmer Engagement in Agriculture Extension

Echoes from our Network: Negotiating two seemingly contradictory understandings of cooperatives

From ECHO’s Seed Bank: Naranjilla


Read Online


Carbon Farming: Building Soils and Stabilizing the Climate

Eric Toensmeier

Climate change will have a huge impact on the world’s poorest people. Crop yields have already gone down in the tropics and are projected to drop by 15-30% by 2080 in Africa, South Asia, and Central America (Hoffman 2013). Some countries could reach a 50% loss of agricultural productivity; in fact, in some regions, agriculture will likely become impossible (Hoffman 2013). The poorest and most food-insecure countries face the worst impacts of climate change to their farming systems (Oxfam 2009). Oxfam International’s Suffering the Science reports that 26 million people are already displaced from their homes due to climate change, and the World Health Organization estimates 150,000 lives are being lost every year due to climate change (Oxfam 2009).

Climate change is happening because too much carbon dioxide is being released into the atmosphere, due to burning of fossil fuels, deforestation, and degradation of farmland. To make our climate stable again, we must drastically reduce emissions of carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases, while also drawing down the excess carbon in the atmosphere and safely storing it. Many agricultural practices can do this. In fact, if these techniques were widely used, they could remove and store enough carbon to return the atmosphere to 350 parts per million (ppm) of carbon dioxide, which is the amount scientists think is safe (Lal 2014). However, such techniques will only be successful if emissions are also dramatically reduced.

Farmer Engagement in Agriculture Extension

Brian Flanagan, summarized from MEAS Tips and Facts Sheets

Good intentions and viable solutions will have little impact unless we engage with farmers in ways that are meaningful to them.  Farmers put a great deal of confidence in what they learn from fellow farmers’ experiences, and they are more likely to trust what they see over what they hear.  Interacting with peers also helps farmers to learn from and share with each other.

This document, drawn from three MEAS Tips and Facts Sheets (Farmer Meetings, Test Strips for On-Farm Demonstrations, and The Farm Walk Farm-Led Demonstrations), discusses practical  agriculture extension methods that development workers can use to more effectively engage with farmers and foster the kind of farmer-to-farmer interaction that leads to positive change.

Naranjilla (Solanum quitoense)

Naranjilla (pronounced na-ran-hee-ya) means ‘little orange’ in Spanish, but it is not a citrus crop.  It is actually a relative of tomato, eggplant and pepper, being a member of the Solanaceae (also known as ‘nightshade’) family.  Grown for its yellow to orange fruits, it has been described as “the golden fruit of the Andes.”  Naranjilla is high in vitamin C (31-84 mg of ascorbic acid/100 g of fresh fruit) and makes excellent juice with a unique and delicious tropical flavor that tastes like a blend of pineapple and lemon.  It is also used in ice cream, sherbets, jellies and jams.

Negotiating two seemingly contradictory understandings of co-operatives

Joel Matthews

In EDN 127, Dick Tinsley and David Headley appear to offer somewhat contradictory visions regarding the value of farmers’ co-operatives. When such contradictory advice appears, it often points to an area of underappreciated complexity. Thus, rather than throw our hands up in frustration, we should take the time to understand. In fact, this is a good time to acknowledge that intervening in a community is complex and potentially risky (for the end users). We must tread carefully when we propose changing others’ lives.