Par: Gene Fifer
Publié: 18/07/2018


EDN140 figure 6

Figure 6. Xylébore.. Source: Tim Motis

Introduction

« Sauvez le guacamole! » C’est le mot d’ordre d'une campagne de la Floride pour combattre la maladie fongique qui tue les avocatiers (Persea americana) partout en Floride. La maladie du flétrissement du laurier est causée par le champignon Raffaelea lauricola et est transmise par le xylébore (Xyleborus glabratus) (Figure 6). Le xylébore (un membre de l'ordre des insectes coléoptères pour les entomologistes d’entre vous) a été identifié en  Georgia en 2002. On pense que ce coléoptère, originaire de l'Asie du Sud-Est, a été introduit via des palettes de fret en bois non traitées et s’est rapidement propagé au laurier rouge indigène (Persea borbonia) et au sassafras  (Sassafras albidum).

EDN140 figure 7

Figure 7. Dépérissement du laurier rouge dans les Everglades. Source: JaxStrong, Creative Commons Attribution License

D'autres arbres et arbustes communs de la famille des Lauraceae sont également sensibles, notamment le benjoin de l’Asie (Lindera latifolia), la litsée jaune (Litsea elongate), le camphre (Cinnamomum camphora), l'avocatier humble (Persea borbonia humilis), le laurier de Californie (Umbellularia californica) et les espèces indigènes en voie de disparition, le pondspice (Litsea aestivalis) et le pondberry (Lindera melissifolia) (GISD 2015). La mort des plantes n'est pas causée par la prise de nourriture des coléoptères, mais par le champignon du laurier, qui est maintenant porté par le xylébore du laurier rouge exotique et des espèces indigènes. Le champignon se développe dans le système vasculaire d'un arbre (le xylème et le phloème), le rendant incapable de transporter la nourriture et l'eau. Les coléoptères aux stades adultes et larvaires se nourrissent du champignon dans une relation symbiotique. Les coléoptères «cultivent» l'arbre, font leur récolte et le champignon en propagation étouffe l'arbre.

La propagation de la maladie a été rapide en raison de l'abondance de plantes-hôtes sauvages et ornementales, et du passage transfrontalier du bois de chauffe et d'autres produits ligneux non traités entre États (Figure 7). Le flétrissement du laurier s'est propagé dans les régions côtières du sud-est des États-Unis, et des lauriers rouges infectés ont été identifiés au Texas en 2015.

EDN140 figure 8

Figure 8. Tunnels de sciure (en haut) et sciure de bois au pied de l'arbre (en bas). Source: Tim Watkins

EDN140 figure 9

Figure 9. Feuilles mortes sur des branches infectées. Source: Tim Watkins

Les signes d'attaque du xylébore et l'infection par le flétrissement du laurier sont des accumulations de sciure ressemblant à des cure-dents (c.-à-d. de la sciure créée lors du creusement ; Figure 8) qui proviennent du tronc ou des branches,  des feuilles tombantes qui deviennent rougeâtres ou violettes (Figure 9), et des stries noires dans l’aubier. L’aubier de branches mortes ou mourantes doit être examiné à l’aide d’un couteau ou d’une hache pour détecter les stries noires ou bleuâtres causées par les taches fongiques. Le manque de stries noires indique un stress causé par la pourriture des racines par Phytophthora, un stress dû à la sécheresse, des dégâts causés par le gel, la foudre et d'autres causes. Le Centre de diagnostic des plantes de l'Université de Floride constitue une bonne ressource pour les questions sur les ravageurs et les maladies, ainsi que sur les services de laboratoire.

Impact passé et futur

La consommation d'avocat en Amérique a été multipliée par sept au cours des vingt-quatre dernières années, éclipsant la banane en tant que fruit d’importation de la plus importante en Amérique. Quatre-vingt-dix pour cent de la production américaine provient de la Californie et 90% de la consommation américaine provient du Mexique. Les avocats sont riches en vitamines, en minéraux et en graisses insaturées, ce qui explique en partie leur croissance extraordinaire dans le monde. L'émergence des avocats comme une marchandise internationale lucrative a conduit au surnom d '«or  vert». L'impact du flétrissement du laurier sur le secteur agricole de la Floride, le deuxième plus grand producteur d'avocats, comprenait l’abattage de plus de  40,000 arbres, des millions de dollars de pertes de revenus, et des pertes d'emplois. 

Si le xylébore se dirige vers la côte ouest des États-Unis, sa propagation sera accélérée par le laurier indigène de Californie (Umbellularia californica) et va rapidement infecter les vergers d'avocatiers. La maladie pourrait également se répandre rapidement dans l'aire de répartition indigène de l'avocat du centre du Mexique, sur les hauts plateaux du Guatemala, du Costa Rica et du Panama, ainsi que dans plusieurs régions de production commerciale d'Amérique latine. Ce potentiel épidémique a conduit les chercheurs du  Centre tropical de recherche et d'enseignement de l'Université de Floride à Homestead en Floride, à collaborer avec des chercheurs de la Californie sur les meilleures pratiques pour détecter les arbres infectés, à mettre en place des procédures d'assainissement rapides et à capturer les populations de coléoptèress (Crane et al. 2011).

Prévention et traitement

On n’a encore trouvé aucun fongicide ou insecticide d’un coût avantageux. Un facteur aggravant est que le pathogène peut se propager à travers les greffes de racines (c'est-à-dire les racines des arbres adjacents qui se touchent et se joignent). Les arbres infectés doivent être arrachés immédiatement et les arbres voisins doivent être traités avec des antibiotiques  (Ploetz et al. 2017). Les options préférées de lutte antiparasitaire intégrée (IPM) comprennent:

EDN140 figure 10

Figure 10. Piège à phéromone. Source: USDA, Creative Commons Attribution License

  • e dépistage constant avec des inspections d'arbres
  • le déracinement et l’incinération des arbres affectés (Ploetz et al., 2017)
  • la pulvérisation de répulsifs chimiques à base de phéromones pour désorienter et perturber les xylébores, combinés à des pièges à phéromones (Figure 10)
  • utilisation d'un biocontrôle parasitaire contenant le champignon Beauveria bassiana qui infecte les coléoptères  (Zhou et al. 2018)

La lutte à long terme ne se fera probablement que par la sélection et l'identification de variétés et de rhizomes résistants, ce qui pourrait nécessiter des décennies de recherche.  

Bien que les avocatiers soient généralement une culture à faible entretien, nutritive et à haut rendement, une vigilance et une gestion accrues sont maintenant requises. Les membres de la communauté de ECHO dans l'hémisphère occidental devraient commencer à inspecter régulièrement leurs arbres pour tenter de détecter les signes d'attaques de coléoptères et de maladies fongiques. Puisque les avocats sont une importante source alimentaire et de revenus pour les petits agriculteurs, il est important d'avoir un effort communautaire pour identifier le xylébore  et les arbres affectés, et pour fournir une réponse avec toutes les mesures disponibles et abordables dans votre région. 

Références

Crane, J., J. Peña, R. Ploetz, J. Smith, et E. Evans. 2011. Proposed Strategies for Decreasing the Threat of Laurel Wilt (LW) and Its Vector, the Redbay Ambrosia Beetle (RAB) to Commercial Avocado Groves in Miami-Dade County [Stratégies proposées pour réduire la menace du flétrissement de laurier (FL) et de son vecteur, le xylébore dans les vergers commerciaux d'avocatiers du comté de Miami-Dade]. Homestead, FL.

Global Invasive Species Database. 2015. Species Profile Raffaelea lauricola [Profil de l'espèce Raffaelea lauricola]. IUCN GISD. 

Ploetz, R.C., M.A. Hughes, P.E. Kendra, S.W. Fraedrich, D. Carrillo, L.L. Stelinski, J. Hulcr, A.E. Mayfield, T.J. Dreaden, J.H. Crane, E.A. Evans, et B.A. Schaffer, J.A. Rollins. 2017. Recovery plan for laurel wilt of avocado, caused by Raffaelea lauricola [Plan de rétablissement du flétrissement de l'avocat causé par Raffaelea lauricola]. Plant Health Progress 18(2):51-77. 

Zhou, Y., P.B. Avery, D. Carrillo, R.H. Duncan, A. Lukowsky, R.D. Cave, et N.O. Keyhani. 2018. Identification of the Achilles heels of the laurel wilt pathogen and its beetle vector  [Identification du talon d'Achille du pathogène du flétrissement du laurier et son coléoptère vecteur]. Applied Microbiology and Biotechnology. 102(13):5673–5684.

By: Gene Fifer
Published: 2018-07-18

Rate This Resource

1 Ratings

EDN140 figure 6

Figure 6. Ambrosia beetle. Source: Tim Motis

Introduction

“Save the Guacamole!” is the battle cry of a Florida campaign to fight the fungal disease killing avocado (Persea americana) trees throughout Florida. Laurel wilt disease is caused by the fungus Raffaelea lauricola and spread by the redbay ambrosia beetle (Xyleborus glabratus) (Figure 6). The redbay ambrosia beetle (a member of the insect order Coleoptera for the entomologists among you) was first identified in Georgia in 2002. It is thought that this beetle, native to Southeast Asia, was introduced through untreated cargo pallet wood and spread quickly to native redbay (Persea borbonia) and sassafras (Sassafras albidum) trees.

EDN140 figure 7

Figure 7. Redbay die-off in The Everglades. Source: JaxStrong, Creative Commons Attribution License

Other common trees and shrubs of the Lauraceae family are also susceptible, including Asian spicebush (Lindera latifolia), yellow litsea (Litsea elongate), camphor (Cinnamomum camphora), silkbay (Persea borbonia humilis), California bay laurel (Umbellularia californica), and the endangered native species pondspice (Litsea aestivalis) and pondberry (Lindera melissifolia) (GISD 2015). Plant death is not caused by the feeding of the beetles but from the laurel wilt fungus, which is now carried by the exotic redbay and native species of ambrosia beetle. The fungus grows in a tree’s vascular system (the xylem and phloem), leaving it unable to transport food and water. The adult and larval stages of the beetle feed on the fungus in a symbiotic relationship. The beetles “farm” the tree, harvest their crop, and the spreading fungus chokes the tree.

The spread of the disease has been rapid due to the abundance of wild and ornamental host plants, and the transportation of firewood and other untreated wood products across state lines (Figure 7). Laurel wilt has spread throughout coastal regions of southeastern US, and infected redbay trees were identified in Texas in 2015.

EDN140 figure 8

Figure 8. Frass tunnels (top) and sawdust frass at base of tree (bottom). Source: Tim Watkins

EDN140 figure 9

Figure 9. Dead leaves on infected branches. Source: Tim Watkins

Signs of attack by the ambrosia beetle and laurel wilt infection are toothpick-like accretions of sawdust (i.e., frass created while tunneling; Figure 8) protruding from trunk or branches, drooping leaves that turn reddish or purple (Figure 9), and black streaks in the sapwood. The sapwood of dead and dying branches should be examined with a knife or ax to detect black or bluish streaks caused by fungal staining. Lack of black streaks indicates stress from phytophthora root rot, drought stress, freeze damage, lightning strike, and other causes. The University of Florida Plant Diagnostic Center is a good resource for pest and disease questions and lab services.

Past and Future Impact

Avocado consumption in America increased sevenfold in the past twenty-four years, eclipsing bananas as America’s highest value fruit import. Ninety percent of US production is in California, and 90% of US consumption is grown in Mexico. Avocados are high in vitamins, minerals, and unsaturated fats, which is part of the reason for their extraordinary growth in popularily. The emergence of avocados as a lucrative international commodity led to the nickname “green gold.” The impact of laurel wilt on Florida’s agriculture sector, the second largest avocado producing state, has included more than 40,000 culled trees, millions of dollars of lost revenue, and job losses. 

If redbay ambrosia beetle makes its way to the US west coast, its spread will be hastened by the native California bay laurel (Umbellularia californica) and will quickly infect avocado orchards. The disease could also spread rapidly through avocado’s native range of central Mexico, the highlands of Guatemala, Costa Rica, and Panama, as well as several commercial production regions elsewhere in Latin America. This epidemic potential has led faculty from the University of Florida Tropical Research and Education Center in Homestead, Florida, to collaborate with California researchers on best practices to detect infected trees, implementing swift sanitation procedures, and trapping ambrosia beetle populations (Crane et al. 2011).\

Prevention and Treatment

No cost-effective fungicides or insecticides have yet been found. A complicating factor is that the pathogen can spread through root grafts (i.e. roots from adjacent trees that contact each other and join together). Infected trees should be removed immediately and neighboring trees should be treated with antibiotics (Ploetz et al. 2017). Preferred integrated pest management (IPM) options include:

EDN140 figure 10

Figure 10. Pheromone trap. Source: USDA, Creative Commons Attribution License

  • constant scouting with tree inspections
  • removal and burning of affected trees (Ploetz et al. 2017)
  • spraying chemical pheromone repellents to disorient and disrupt ambrosia beetles, combined with pheromone traps (Figure 10)
  • use of a parasitic biocontrol containing the fungus Beauveria
  • bassiana that infects beetles (Zhou et al. 2018)

Long-term control will probably only come through breeding and identifying resistant varieties and rootstocks, which may take decades of research. 

Though avocados have generally been a low maintenance, nutritious, and high yielding crop, increased vigilance and management are now required. ECHO community members in the Western Hemisphere should start inspecting their trees for signs of beetle attack and fungal disease on a regular basis. Since avocados are an important food and income source for smallholder farmers, it is important to have a cooperative community effort to identify the ambrosia beetle and affected trees, and to respond with whatever measures are available and affordable in your area. 

References

Crane, J., J. Peña, R. Ploetz, J. Smith, and E. Evans. 2011. Proposed Strategies for Decreasing the Threat of Laurel Wilt (LW) and Its Vector, the Redbay Ambrosia Beetle (RAB) to Commercial Avocado Groves in Miami-Dade County. Homestead, FL.

Global Invasive Species Database. 2015. Species Profile Raffaelea lauricola. IUCN GISD. 

Ploetz, R.C., M.A. Hughes, P.E. Kendra, S.W. Fraedrich, D. Carrillo, L.L. Stelinski, J. Hulcr, A.E. Mayfield, T.J. Dreaden, J.H. Crane, E.A. Evans, and B.A. Schaffer, J.A. Rollins. 2017. Recovery plan for laurel wilt of avocado, caused by Raffaelea lauricola. Plant Health Progress 18(2):51-77. 

Zhou, Y., P.B. Avery, D. Carrillo, R.H. Duncan, A. Lukowsky, R.D. Cave, and N.O. Keyhani. 2018. Identification of the Achilles heels of the laurel wilt pathogen and its beetle vector. Applied Microbiology and Biotechnology. 102(13):5673–5684.